“The Pathology of Privilege” (Tim Wise)

Since this is a highly important discussion to have in our current context, I thought I would share this with as many people as possible.

The video I will post is accessible on Youtube (all 6 parts). I will also post two links to Tim Wise on Obama and race.

Essentially, this is a talk about racism, white privilege and social inequalities. If it doesn’t change your perspective, it will certainly teach you something! Tim Wise is awesome.

Enjoy!

 

“Between Barack and a Hard Place”

 

A discussion about Obama and race…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Troy
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 11:33:58

    Watched the first series. It’s intense, and the thing that blows about it… it’s true. I’ve had the priviledge of not *always* being scrutinized for my race, but it happens, and as much as I try to live freely from that, there’s always a guardedness about it.

    Reply

  2. Posky
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 20:12:35

    I’ve always been a pretty big fan of Wise and think his writing is often top notch. He says things that need to be said and I wish more people gave him a listen. What I like most is that he really addresses how racism has changed in this country. Sometimes he’ll say certain things that almost makes me feel like his rhetorical tacit is to lightly vilify white people but, it’s rarely something that hurts the message. I just wish that he could rally white people to get on board with the message instead of making it still seem like a race war has been going on.

    He’s saying things that need to be said but I don’t want it to be so polarizing that he’s going to lose some of his would be white audience.

    Reply

    • The Shameless Idealist
      Nov 27, 2010 @ 10:56:56

      Thanks for your comment! I agree that he gets pretty passionate and I can see how he sometimes speaks in ways that least inspire the cooperation of the dominant, white, group. I do really like him, though; I think we need more people like him to speak about racism in a no-bullsh*t way. I think something needs to be said about shocking people to get them to reflect critically on social problems such as this one, though. Maybe that’s his whole point?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

